Skip to content

Digital accessibility

The Act on the Provision of Digital Services obliges the public sector to abide by the requirements of the European Union's accessibility directive. WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) is a set of internationally recognized guidelines on the accessibility of web contents. According to the Act, websites and applications must fulfil the criteria on level A and level AA in the WCAG 2.1 guidelines.

Accessible digital services are easy to use for all users, including the elderly and persons with different kinds of functional disabilities. When the accessibility has been acknowledged, as many people as possible can use digital services independently.

Helsinki’s objective

In terms of the accessibility of digital services, Helsinki’s objective is to reach at least the AA- level, or better, according to the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.

Accessibility statement

After a transition period, each city service will include an accessibility statement. The accessibility statement describes how well the website or application corresponds with the accessibility requirements and how accessibility feedback can be provided to the city or the supervisory authority.

18.02.2020 14:36