Skip to content


The Education Committee and sub-committees

Education Division is governed by the Education Committee. 
The committee has two sub-committees: the Finnish-language Division and the Swedish-language division.    

The Education Committee began operations when the city adopted the new mayoral model on 1 June 2017.

Division administration

  • The operations and administration of the Education division are directed by the Head of Education Division Satu Järvenkallas, who serves as the presenting official of the Education Committee and its sub-committees divisions and the division’s deputy mayor.
    Head of Education Division also serves as the supervisor of the head of administration and the directors of the services included in the division. Head of Education Division performs the duties specified by the chief secretary.
  • Deputy Head of Early Childhood Education Ulla Lehtonen is in charge of early childhood and pre-primary education services.
  • Basic education services are directed by Head of Basic Education Outi Salo.
  • General upper secondary, vocational and liberal adult education services are directed by Head of Upper Secondary, Vocational and Liberal Adult Education Arja Kukkonen.
  • Head of Swedish Services Niclas Grönholm is in charge of Swedish-language education services.
  • Head of Administration Kati Takanen is in charge of the administration of the Education Division.