Skip to content

Organisation and presentation of the division

The Urban Environment Division is responsible for planning, construction and maintenance, building supervision and environmental services in the Helsinki city environment.

Approximately 1,700 employees work in the sector under executive director Ville Lehmuskoski. The Urban Environment committee, together with its two subcommittees, guide and supervise the operations of the division.

The Urban Environment Division consists of four departments:

Land use and city structure

  • Strategic Urban Planning
  • Detailed planning
  • Land property development and plots
  • Traffic and street planning
  • Urban space and landscape planning

Buildings and public areas

  • Housing production
  • Facilities
  • Public areas

Services and permits

  • Resident and business services
  • City survey services
  • Building control services
  • Environmental services
  • Parking control and parking services

Sector administration

  • Administrative and legal services
  • Procurement services
  • HR services
  • Development services
  • Financial and planning services
  • Information resources management services
  • Communications

In addition, the Urban Environment Division includes the Helsinki City Rescue Department and Helsinki City Transport (HKL) as separate departments. The rescue committee runs the operations of the Rescue Department, and the Board of Governors of HKL is in charge of the operations of HKL.